社区

除遵守国家采矿和环境立法外,Chaarat致力于满足国际良好行业惯例,包括国际金融公司《环境与社会可持续性绩效标准》中的倡议。

2015年期间,邀请了Chatkal山谷的17名居民前往土耳其的Çöpler矿山进行了实地考察,参观当地堆浸作业,并解答了居民关切的与矿山人员相关的问题。这次考察连同当地社区举行的其他会议及相关信息披露等,促使当地居民召开了听证会,决定允许Chaarat矿床的开发。

Chaarat Zaav的副主任Turat Usubaliev每年都同意与Chaarat矿区附近的当地社区(最近的社区距离该地20公里)开展“社会一揽子计划”,具体计划由2013年成立的社区咨询小组(CCG)负责实施,该小组确保所有社区的参与,包括两个地方议会(当地人称为”Keneshes”)的负责人的参与。

CCG的目标基于两个原则:

  • 确定当地居民理解Chaarat矿床开发的过程和概念,并解决他们的担忧。
  • 确保公司对当地社区的支持以当地社区的优先事项为准,并为广大民众带去最大利益

Chaarat还通过将纳税地点从比Bishkek迁至Chatkal地区的首府Kanysh Kya,兑现了对地区发展的承诺。Chaarat现在是地区预算的最大单一贡献者。

Chaarat聘用的社区联络官(CLO)确保与社区、非政府组织和其他有关组织和个人进行持续的沟通。

申诉机制使当地社区能够利用当地和解办公室保存的日志进行投诉,并提出问题。除解决已经明确的问题外,CLO还负责向当地社区通报Chaarat的活动,以便维持我们Tulkubash项目的运营许可证。我们时刻确保适当的健康和安全水平,并采取一切预防措施保护环境,同时尊重当地的文化。

CCG的投资原则如下:

  • 将项目受益人数最大化
  • 在资助计划结束时确保该项目自身可持续的发展能力
  • 有能力监测和报告项目的影响

项目是通过透明的过程和与社区代表合作选出的。决策过程及其结果将予记录并公开。Chaarat强烈鼓励推行在现行项目基础上建设符合现有社会经济发展战略的项目。

Chaarat Zaav与Chatkal区政府于2017年签署的备忘录旨在提高当地居民的技能,改善和改进当地的基础设施。Chatkal Akim和Kanysh-Kia农村委员会负责人的来信中对公司为当地政府和居民提供的支持和社会援助表示感谢。

我们在假期和当地的庆祝活动中为儿童和老年人准备礼物。

运输和基础设施

Chaarat矿床位于首都Bishkek西南约320公里处。从Bishkek出发,您可以通过520公里的已铺砌和未铺砌道路抵达酒店。在冬季,从另外一条路线出发,到达比什凯克需要行驶760公里,这条路线全年开通。位置偏远意味着交通和基础设施建设是当地社区的高度优先事项。

Kurulush经Chatkal山谷前往Chakmak-Suu的道路长达90公里,每年以约4公里的速度进行道路升级建设。每公里公路的升级费用约为12万美元,其中一半的费用由Chaarat支付。当Chaarat项目投入生产时,公司将其收入的2%捐赠给当地发展基金,也将用于部分道路的升级。

Chaarat为悬索桥的建设作出了贡献,购买了供当地议会使用的车辆,并为清扫Karabuura通道的设备提供了燃料和润滑油。

教育和技能建立

Chaarat制定了全面的人力资源政策,本地招聘计划惠及包括Chatkal和Kanysh-Kiya 村地区的居民在内的所有Chatkal山谷地区居民。然而,由于矿产项目的开展需要一些能力和经验匹配的专家,Chaarat就需要从更广泛的地区(包括区外)招聘员工。

自2008年以来,Chaarat一直为符合矿业相关专业高等教育(主要是地质和矿山工程)条件的学生提供支持,为他们支付学费,并提供适度的生活补贴。学生们在暑假期间以全薪的方式来到矿山现场实习。

2014年,根据Kanysh-Kiya Ayil Okmotu(农村委员会)的要求,我们为在当地职校学习钻探辅助技能的学生提供了就业机会,使他们能够获得必要的经验以便在勘探公司寻找工作。

由于当地农村社区医生和医疗机构短缺,我们持续为医学生提供赞助。Kanysh Kia 和Chatkal农村委员会要求我们为当地居民提供医疗服务,我们也非常愿意为社区提供此类服务。

Chaarat在Kanysh-Kiya和Jany-Bazar村庄开设小型批发商店,向当地居民提供Bishkek价格的杂货。当地居民对此感到欣慰,尤其是冬天,因为冬季运输问题会使食品和干草的成本增加。我们还协助了进行当地报纸Chatkal Ottoru的发行。

娱乐活动

对当地居民而言,当务之急是给他们建一座体育馆。经过两年的设计、招标、许可申请和建设,Bashky-Terek体育馆于2013年落成。我们为体育馆聘请了一位摔跤教练,购买相关健身设备,并为地区体育赛事和锦标赛提供赞助。

Gold Price USD 1257.50 /oz (AIM:CGH)21.13p

Responsible Mining

In addition to compliance with national mining and environmental legislation, Chaarat is committed to meeting the expectations of good international industry practice, including recommendations set out by the IFC Performance Standards on Environmental and Social Sustainability.

Children smiling

During 2015 a visit was organised to the Çöpler mine in Turkey which gave 17 residents of the Chatkal valley the opportunity to see a heap leach operation and address their concerns to the mine personnel. This visit, together with other information and meetings held with the local communities, resulted in a decision at the public hearings to permit development of the Chaarat deposit.

Every year Chaarat Zaav’s Deputy Director, Turat Usubaliev, agrees a “social package” of support with the local communities near the Chaarat deposit (the closest community is 20km from the site). He does this through the Community Consultation Group (CCG) we established in 2013 which ensures participation from all sections of the communities, including the heads of the two local councils or “Keneshes” as they are known.

The objectives of the CCG are based on two principles:

  • To establish that the local population understands the process and concept of development of the Chaarat deposit and any concerns are addressed
  • To ensure that the support provided by the Company to the local community is invested according to the priorities of the local communities and for the greatest benefit of the majority of the population

Chaarat has also demonstrated its commitment to regional development by moving its taxpayer location from Bishkek to Kanysh Kya, the capital of the Chatkal District. Chaarat is now the largest single contributor to the district budget.

Community Liaison Officers (CLO) employed by Chaarat ensure consistent and on-going communication with communities, NGOs and other interested organisations and individuals.

A grievance mechanism enables the the local community to communicate complaints and questions through a logbook kept in their local settlement office. The CLOs, as well as resolving identified issues, are also responsible for informing the local community about the activities of Chaarat so maintaining our licence to operate for the Tulkubash Project. We are always mindful of the need to ensure the appropriate level of health and safety, as well as taking all precautions for the protection of the environment, and at the same time respecting local culture.

The investment principles of the CCG are:

  • Maximising the number of people who benefit from the project
  • Establishing the potential of the project to become self-sustaining when support ends
  • Ability to monitor and report on the impact of the project

Projects are selected through a transparent process and in cooperation with community representatives. The results of the decision-making process are documented and made publicly available. Chaarat strongly encourages projects that fit with existing socio-economic development strategies and that build on initiatives which are already underway.

The Memorandum signed in 2017 between Chaarat Zaav and the Chatkal district state administration was aimed at improving the skills of the local population as well as the renovation and improvement of the local infrastructure. Letters of gratitude were received from the Chatkal Akim and the Head of the Kanysh-Kia Rural Council in appreciation for the support and social aid provided to the local government and the residents.

We make provision for gifts to children and elderly residents at holidays and local celebrations.

Transport & Infrastructure

Chaarat

The Chaarat deposit is approximately 320km south west of the capital, Bishkek. From Bishkek the property is accessed via a combination of 520km of paved and unpaved roads. During the winter an alternative route provides almost year round access at a distance of 760km from Bishkek. The remoteness of the location means that transport and infrastructure are high priorities for the local communities.

The road from Kurulush through the Chatkal valley to Chakmak-Suu is 90 km long and upgrading is completed at the rate of about 4km per year. The upgrade of a single kilometre of road costs approximately $120,000 and half the cost is paid by Chaarat. When the Chaarat Project is in production the Company will allocate 2% of its revenue to a local development fund which will also be used in part to upgrade the road.

Chaarat has contributed to the construction of a suspension bridge, purchased a vehicle for the use of the local council and provided fuel and lubricants for the equipment clearing the Karabuura pass.

Education and skills building

Chaarat have a comprehensive Human Resources policy in place favouring local recruitment from the settlements in the Chatkal Valley, including those within Chatkal and Kanysh-Kiya Village Districts. However, as some mining project specialist staff will be recruited based on capability and experience, this may require Chaarat to source some employees from a wider area, including outside the district.

Since 2008 Chaarat has supported qualifying students through higher education in mining sector related skills (principally geology and mine engineering). We pay for students’ tuition and provide a modest living allowance. The students work as trainees on site during the summer holidays on full pay.

In 2014 at the request of the Kanysh-Kiya Ayil Okmotu (Rural Council) we offered placement opportunities to drill helpers trained at the local vocational schools to enable them to gain the necessary experience to seek employment with exploration companies.

We sponsor medical students since there continues to be a shortage of doctors and medical facilities in rural communities. The Kanysh Kia and Chatkal rural councils requested our help for the provision of medical treatment to residents which we were glad to provide.

Chaarat set up small wholesale shops in Kanysh-Kiya and Jany-Bazar villages which provide local residents with groceries at Bishkek prices. This is particularly appreciated during the winter when the cost of food and hay can increase due to the problems of transport. We also assisted with the distribution of a local newspaper – Chatkal Ottoru.

Recreational activities

Opening speech of the gym

The construction of a sports hall was a top priority for the local population. After two years of design, tendering, permitting and construction, the Bashky-Terek sports hall was inaugurated in 2013. We have provided a wrestling coach as well as purchasing equipment and sponsoring regional sporting events and tournaments.