公司治理

公司治理的主要目标是提高和保护股东价值。Chaarat董事会致力通过实行良好的企业管治原则,维持高标准的企业管治,同时兼顾本集团的业务组合及规模。

《英国企业治理守则》及《上市公司最佳守则》已纳入《金融管理局上市规则》。作为一家在AIM上市的公司,Chaarat不需要遵守《英国企业治理守则》的规定,但应适当考虑《英国企业治理守则》中的原则。公司董事会尽可能寻求采用上市公司联盟制定的《中小型上市公司治理准则》(2013)。

独立性

2016年10月1日,Martin Andersson被任命为Chaarat董事会主席,同时,他作为Labro投资有限公司(Labro)多数股份的间接受益人,成为Chaarat的最大股东。

董事会认为委任Martin为公司主席符合所有股东的最佳利益。他的利益与股东完全一致,且他力求保持最高的公司治理水平,以消除股东对其独立性的担忧。

Chaarat与Labro之间已达成一份关系协议。协议规定,只要Labro实益拥有或拥有本公司已发行股本20%或以上权益,Labro将有权提名一名董事进董事会。协议还规定,Labro将不会采取任何行动来规避适用《AIM规则》,或以正常商业条款与本公司或本集团进行任何交易。

关系协议将于Labro停止实益拥有或拥有本公司已发行股本至少20%或普通股不再获准在AIM上交易之日终止。

Chaarat的《公司章程》规定,董事会有权要求任何持有公司20%以上股份股份持有人获得额外的股份权益时,必须强制要约收购所有其他公司股东的股份。董事会此前已行使酌情权,Labro收购超过20%股份时,放弃如上强制要约。

由于2016年9月份的配股问题,新任主席的若干联系人成为本公司股东。这些新股东在保持独立的情况下,完全为了自己的利益且没有直接参与公司的工作,主席保守地认为这些员工应该被视为与Labro组成了一个一致行动人。一致行动人的任何成员增持股份,必须向董事会通知,以便与Labro无关联的董事得以决定是否行使自由裁量权放弃向全体股东提出强制性要约的要求。

董事会认为,这是实现公司治理目的的最佳实践,不存在以做低股价为方式积累公司股份进而收购公司的可能性。因此,就公司章程而言,Martin Wiwen-Nilsson、Willem De Geer、Deer Invest AB和Sarastro Group Limited(或其各自提名人)均与Labro组成一致行动人。

非执行董事通常不会与本集团有任何重大业务或其他关系。出于集团利益考虑,任何此类信息连同他们所具备的、对集团有帮助的特定技能和相关专业知识将被披露。Richard Rae是高级非执行董事,被董事会其余成员视为独立董事。

董事会会议

董事会成员定期举行会议,以审查进度、批准战略和预算以及重大资本支出和财务报表。

所有董事均有权获取公司秘书的意见和服务,公司秘书负责确保所有董事会程序得到遵守。任何董事在履行职责时可以采取独立的专业意见,费用由公司承担。

薪酬委员会

薪酬委员会由Richard Rae和Martin Wiwen-Nilsson组成,其中Richard Rae担任委员会主席。委员会在每个财政年度按要求举行会议。负责审查执行董事的表现,确定其薪酬的规模和结构,并适当顾及股东的整体利益及本集团的业绩。薪酬委员会也管理公司的期权激励安排。非执行董事的薪酬由全体董事审核。

审计委员会

审计委员会由Richard Rae和Martin Andersson组成,其中Richard Rae担任委员会主席。委员会每个财政年度至少举行两次正式开会。审查本公司的中期及年度财务报表,然后提交董事会批准,并审查向管理层及外聘核数师定期提供的审计、会计及内部控制事宜报告。审计委员会在适当情况下监督有关此类事项的行动进展情况。审计委员会对外部审计师的任命和审查费用提出意见。它还审查外部审计师的独立性和所提供的任何非审计服务。

提名委员会

提名委员会由全体董事组成。主席负责审查所有提交至董事会的变更建议,以平衡公司发展所需的专业技能,进而实现Chaarat战略目标。迄今为止,提名为董事会成员的推荐人选一直以现任董事会成员的个人联系人为基础。

健康、安全、环境和社区委员会

健康、安全、环境和社区委员会负责公司及其运营过程中的整体健康、安全和环境表现,以及公司与吉尔吉斯共和国当地社区的关系。委员会由整个董事会组成。

业务发展委员会

针对Chaarat的新机遇,业务发展委员会会召开专项会议进行讨论审查,其中可能包括董事会熟知的、有联系的以及有经验的地区(如俄罗斯、独联体和远东地区)的收购事宜。该委员会由整个董事会组成。

与股东的关系

董事会认识到与股东(无论是机构还是个人)保持对话的重要性,并重视股东的观点。对话形式可以采取单独会议或演示的形式与散户投资者进行沟通。董事会成员全年需定期地与股东、分析师和其他机构会面,向其更新公司信息。股东周年大会及网站鼓励董事会的积极参与。

股份交易规则

本公司已为董事及其雇员采纳《股份交易规则》,该规则适用于其股份获准在AIM交易的公司(以确保遵守AIM规则第21条的规定)。本公司采取一切合理措施确保董事及其关连人士及雇员遵守股份交易规则的条款。

Gold Price USD 1257.50 /oz (AIM:CGH)21.13p

Corporate Governance

The key objective of corporate governance is to enhance and protect shareholder value. The Board of Directors of Chaarat is committed to maintaining high standards of corporate governance by applying good corporate governance principles pragmatically whilst having regard to the business profile and size of the Group.

The UK Corporate Governance Code and Code of Best Practice for listed companies are incorporated within the Listing Rules of the Financial Conduct Authority. As an AIM quoted company, Chaarat is not required to comply with the UK Corporate Governance Code but has due regard to the principles set out in the Code. The Board seeks as far as possible to apply the guidance provided by the Quoted Companies Alliance in its Corporate Governance Code for Small and Mid-Size Quoted Companies (2013).

Independence

On 1 October 2016 Martin Andersson was appointed to lead the Board of Chaarat as Chairman. He is the largest shareholder of Chaarat as he is indirectly beneficially interested in the majority of the shares in Labro Investments Limited (Labro).

The Board considers that the appointment of Martin as Chairman is in the best interests of all shareholders. His interests are fully aligned with shareholders and he seeks to maintain the highest standards of corporate governance to allay any concerns regarding independence.

A Relationship Agreement has been put in place between the Chaarat and Labro which provides, inter alia, that for so long as Labro beneficially owns or is interested in 20% or more of the issued share capital of the Company, Labro shall have the right to nominate one director to the Board. It also stipulates that Labro will not take any action to circumvent the proper application of the AIM Rules or enter into any transactions with the Company or the Group on any other than on normal commercial terms.

The Relationship Agreement will terminate on the date that Labro ceases to beneficially own or be interested in at least 20% of the issued share capital of the Company or if the ordinary shares cease to be admitted to trading on AIM.

Chaarat’s Articles of Association provide that the Board has the right to require any holder of more than 20% of the Company’s shares, who acquires an additional interest in shares, must make a mandatory offer to acquire the shares of all the other Company’s shareholders. The Board has previously exercised its discretion to waive the requirement for a mandatory offer when Labro acquired shares in excess of a 20% holding.

As a result of the placing in September 2016 a number of associates of the incoming Chairman became shareholders in the Company. Whilst acting independently, solely in their own interests and having no direct involvement with the Company, the Chairman, taking a conservative view, deemed it appropriate that these associates should be considered as forming a concert party with Labro. Additional share purchases by any member of the concert party must be notified to the Board so that the Directors not associated with Labro can decide whether to exercise their discretion to waive the requirement to make a mandatory offer to all shareholders.

The Board believes this is best practice for corporate governance purposes so that there is no perception that shares are being accumulated with the objective of acquiring the company at a potentially depressed valuation. Accordingly, Martin Wiwen-Nilsson, Willem De Geer, Deer Invest AB and Sarastro Group Limited (or in each case his or its nominee), comprise the concert party with Labro for the purposes of the Articles.

The non-executive Directors are usually free from any material business or other relationship with the Group. Any such interest would be disclosed and relate to their particular skill and expertise for the benefit of the Group. Richard Rae is the senior non-executive Director and is considered independent by the rest of the Board.

Board meetings

The members of the Board meet regularly to review progress, approve strategy and budgets, major capital expenditure and the financial statements.

All directors have access to the advice and services of the Company Secretary, who is responsible for ensuring that all Board procedures are followed. Any director may take independent professional advice at the company’s expense in the furtherance of their duties.

Remuneration committee

The remuneration committee comprises Richard Rae as Chairman and Martin Wiwen-Nilsson. The committee meets as required during each financial year. It is responsible for reviewing the performance of the executive Directors and for setting the scale and structure of their remuneration, having due regard to the interests of shareholders as a whole and the performance of the Group. The remuneration committee also administers the company’s share option arrangements. The remuneration of the non-executive directors is reviewed by the whole Board.

Audit committee

The audit committee comprises Richard Rae as Chairman and Martin Andersson. The committee meets formally on at least two occasions each financial year. It reviews the Company’s interim and annual financial statements before submission to the Board for approval, as well as regular reports from management and the external auditors on audit, accounting and internal control matters. Where appropriate, the audit committee monitors the progress of action taken in relation to such matters. The audit committee also recommends the appointment of, and reviews the fees of, the external auditors. It also reviews the independence of the external auditors and any non-audit services provided.

Nominations committee

The nominations committee is comprised of the whole Board of Directors. The Chairman reviews all proposed changes to the Board with regard to the balance of skills necessary to achieve Chaarat’s strategic objectives. Recommendations for nomination to the Board have been based to date on the personal contacts of the existing Board.

Health, Safety, Environment and Community committee

A Health, Safety, Environment and Community committee is responsible for the overall health, safety and environmental performance of the Company and its operations and its relationship with the local community in the Kyrgyz Republic. The Committee is comprised of the entire Board of Directors.

Business Development committee

The Business Development Committee meets on an ad hoc basis to review new opportunities for Chaarat, which may include acquisitions within regions where the Board has knowledge, contacts and experience, such as Russia, the CIS and the Far East. The Committee comprises the entire Board of Directors.

Relations with shareholders

The Board recognises the importance of maintaining a dialogue with its shareholders (whether institutional or private) and values the views expressed. Dialogue can take the form of individual meetings or presentations to retail investors. Members of the Board meet with shareholders, analysts and other institutions regularly throughout the year to keep them updated. The AGM and website encourage engagement with the Board.

The Share Dealing Code

The Company has adopted a share dealing code for the Directors and its employees, which is appropriate for the company whose shares are admitted to trading on AIM (in order to, among other things, ensure compliance with Rule 21 of the AIM Rules). The Company takes all reasonable steps to ensure compliance with the terms of the share dealing code by the Directors and their connected persons and employees.